A Pinhole camera - (in need of help)

Links and information on projects by local makers
bhs128

A Pinhole camera - (in need of help)

Postby bhs128 » Sun Nov 07, 2010 8:50 pm

Hello,

As this is my first post, a quick introduction first. I'm a Comp Sci student at Augsburg. I'm interested in far too many things, but among them are computers/technology/astronomy/photography/cartography.

I'm currently working on a pinhole camera based on the standard "Quaker Oats" design.

The only difference is mine uses a 6" aluminum pipe instead (I plan on having 3/4" plywood ends), as I intend to leave the "shutter" open for up to six months at a time. Where I need some help is drilling into the aluminum-

This side-view shows that I will need to use some sort of 3/4" flat-end bit to drill part-way down, and then a 1/2" bit to go all the way through. The reason for the ledge is to support the laser-cut pinhole I bought.

The end result will be higher resolution images like these.

So as I'm new here, I have a few questions:
1) Does the Hack Factory have the bits/drill press to do something like this?
2) Would anyone be interested (or willing) to help with the drilling (I imagine it'd be simple)?

Thanks in advance, and I look forward to meeting you guys.

mcsteve

Re: A Pinhole camera - (in need of help)

Postby mcsteve » Sun Nov 07, 2010 9:30 pm

We have a couple drill presses, but I'm not sure what kind of bit would work well for making the 3/4" hole with a flat bottom. I bet Pete (otto_pjm on this forum) could probably mill a hole like that with his fancy CNC router, though...
If it ain't broke, your version is outdated.

Booka
Global Moderator

Postby Booka » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:31 pm

I second Pete's comment about not having the bits... Plus the press we have is not quite set up to mill fractions of inches cleanly.

Because of the curve in the pipe, you will need something that allows the depth increments to be very fine.